Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies zur Auswertung und Optimierung unseres Web-Angebots. Nutzungsdaten dieser Webseite werden nur in anonymisierter Form gesammelt und gespeichert. Einzelheiten über die eingesetzten Cookies und die Möglichkeit, die Nutzungsdatenanalyse zu unterbinden, finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen

Welcome to the website of the Green Parliamentary Group in the German Bundestag

We are the parliamentarian representation of the Alliance 90/The Green Party (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen). Founded in 1980, the Green Party merged in 1993 with the civil rights movement Bündnis 90 of the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Since 1983, there has been a continuous representation of either The Greens or Alliance 90 in the German Bundestag. For nearly 30 years we have been working in the parliament for environmental protection and sustainable development, democracy and human rights, social justice, peace and multilateral international policies.

From 1998 to 2005 - that is for two electoral terms - our party formed the Federal Government together with the Social Democratic Party (SPD). With Foreign Minister Joschka Fischer, Health Minister Andrea Fischer, Agriculture and Consumer Protection Minister Renate Künast and Environment Minister Jürgen Trittin, key members of our Green Parliamentary Group were responsible for shaping the reform policies of the Red-Green Coalition Government. During this time we played a substantial role in establishing Germany as a reliable and trusted partner for sustainable and peaceful development, both at the national and international level.

From 2005 to 2009 Germany was governed by a CDU/CSU-SPD Grand Coalition. We were one of three parties in opposition, each with a similar number of seats.

From 2009 to 2013 a Coalition by CDU/CSU and FDP governed Germany. We were again one of three parties in opposition. Our parliamentary group was made up of 68 members - the largest representation of ecological/social policies in any parliament around the world. Members of the German Green Party also made up a significant share of the Green parliamentary group in the European Parliament in Brussels/Strasbourg. In countries in and beyond Europe, there were at least 32 Green parties; some are represented in their national parliaments, some are part of their national governments. 

Since the elections to the Bundestag in 2013, the green parliamentary group consists of 63 members. Katrin Göring-Eckardt and Anton Hofreiter were voted co-leaders, succeeding Renate Künast and Jürgen Trittin who led the parliamentary group from 2005 to 2013 and 2009 to 2013, respectively.